Taste Change

Some medications can change your tastes, I have experienced this since beginning my Fluoxetine.

I used to be a solid tea drinker, in fact I was drinking tea since I was about 6 years old, I started on Earl Grey and progressed to Builder’s and Yorkshire tea. Then over the course of maybe a month the taste of tea began to make me feel increasingly sick. I literally couldn’t drink it, it made me so nauseous I couldn’t stand it.

Then I tried a… I think it was a Nescafe Irish Cream coffee out of the sachet. Let me be clear, I hated coffee, I had NEVER been able to stomach it. I tried this Irish Cream and BAM! I loved it. Before I knew it I was drinking Irish Cream, Latte, Cappuccino, Vanilla Cream, Double Mocha Choca, and Mochas. Almost overnight I became completely hooked on coffee.

Even as I’m writing this blog I’m settling into a mug of Irish Cream (its still my favourite) and I can no longer go a day without at least 2 mugs of coffee. Its insane! The magic of taste changing meds!

Cheese is something else I have been developing a love for. I have never really been one to eat cheese off the block (and currently I still don’t) but I have begun to like it more and more, like cheese toasties, cheese on toast, as long as its cooked I’ll eat it. But the strange thing is that I’m lactose intolerant, but I can stomach cooked cheese without it aggravating my intolerance. I’m not 100% sure if this is down to my taste change or if its just me being weird. Either is possible.

I’d be interested to know if any of you guys have experienced taste changes with any medication you’ve taken?

-artemisofthewild

Leave a comment